创新技术

概述

自 2002 年以来,Phoseon Technology 率先将 LED 用于 UV 固化应用,100% 专注于 UV LED 固化技术。Phoseon 获得专利的半导体光矩阵 (SLM)™ 技术封装了 LED、阵列、光学器件和冷却,以最大限度地提高 UV LED 固化性能。这四个组件中的每一个都经过严格的设计,形成一个系统,提供最大的紫外线能量和卓越的性能,同时也提高了苛刻应用的长期稳定性。

UV LED基础知识。紫外LED系统简介

发光二极管

发光二极管(LED)

发光二极管(LED)是固态器件,当电流从电路的正极(阳极)侧流向负极(阴极)侧时,会产生光。与使用预包装的 LED 相比,Phoseon 从单个二极管构建完整的光引擎。这使得 Phoseon 能够将单个 LED 的特性与其他组件相匹配,从而最大限度地提高总 UV 能量。

作为基础构件,这是UV LED灯供应商必须做出的第一个选择。它是一个关键的选择,影响着系统架构和设计的其余部分。简单地说,LED是一种固态器件,当电流从电路的正极(阳极)侧流向负极(阴极)侧时,就会产生光。

并不是所有的LED都是一样的,也不是所有的LED都表现出同样的特性。紫外LED灯供应商需要对其系统的LED质量、类型、材料和形状做出关键选择。每个UV LED灯供应商考虑的关键LED特性包括波长和UV输出。

波长。在LED的制造过程中,使用不同数量的掺杂物,如铝、镓或铟的衍生物来控制LED的发射波长。一般的经验法则是,波长越短,从裸片中可获得的UV峰值输出越低。

UV LED供应商必须权衡波长和相关总能量与固化率之间的权衡。化学成分在这一讨论中起着重要作用。一些应用,由于其特定的化学成分,需要一个给定的波长。然而,对于许多应用来说,峰值波长的微小变化不会有任何影响,因为启动反应的光引发剂对紫外线的吸收具有广泛的吸收范围。

在标称输入电压和电流下,单颗UV LED的输出以毫瓦(mW)为单位。近年来,UV LED的输出已经显示出相当大的进步,其中各厂商的LED规格已经有了很大的提高。这种改进表明,LED供应商已经并将继续提高UV LED的输出,这只会为利用它们的UV LED固化灯提供更好的基础。

LED阵列

数组

阵列是单个LED的分组或集群。LED 的数量、类型和尺寸;阵列的形状;以及 LED 的电连接方法都会影响阵列。Phoseon 的阵列架构针对产品(无论是风冷还是水冷)和目标应用,以确保系统制造商获得最佳性能和可靠性。

阵列是供应商可以开始区分其产品的第二个领域。如何组合LED,选择的LED数量和类型,阵列的形状,电连接LED的方法,甚至LED的尺寸都对系统的性能有重大影响。如果搭建得当,可以成为一个高功率的UV LED阵列。

大多数应用都要求UV LED固化系统由一个以上的LED或LED阵列组成,以便不仅实现所需的吞吐量,而且满足固化应用的需求,其中介质可以是1-2m宽。因此,一个关键的问题是LED阵列是否可以统一缩放。UV LED固化灯可以有一个连续的可扩展阵列,以提供更好的均匀性,也可以有一个离散的阵列封装,可以扩展,但不能提供同样的均匀输出。

一些LED制造商只出售他们的LED预包装成阵列或组件,他们认为这可以最大限度地提高UV输出。购买预包装阵列的UV LED灯系统供应商通常会在更快的上市时间和差异化较小的灯管与稍长的上市时间和最大的UV功率之间做出权衡。这是一个UV LED灯供应商可以根据供应商的架构和工程能力进行差异化的领域,两个供应商可以采用同一批LED,在最终产品中实现非常不同的性能。

光电

光学

在选择单个二极管并实现特定应用的阵列后,Phoseon 会将光学技术分层,将能量导向要固化的基材或材料。这种光学技术的使用有三个好处。1)它最大限度地增加了应用于材料的紫外线能量,2)它降低了阵列产生的热量,3)它提供了特定应用的聚焦能量。

UV LED光学是灯管中最重要的差异化因素之一。科学的光学改进LED,以最大限度地提高其紫外线输出,是灯的最终性能的关键。根据最终的应用,光学工程师必须决定什么形状、形式和材料最能发挥LED的独特特性。其次,他们必须平衡LED是一种 "泛光 "类型的光,不像聚焦汞灯,光被反射器捕获并直接照射到一个特定的点,焦距。

光学工程师面临的挑战是如何使用各种方法来确保最大数量的光以所需的辐照度通过窗口/玻璃向材料 "逃逸"。LED灯供应商已经使用各种保密的方法来最大限度地提高UV LED光。

虽然终端用户或OEM不一定要关注UV LED灯的光学元件是如何提供的,但他们应该了解供应商是否有能力针对他们的特定应用需求改进其设计。

LED的散热

冷却

如果保持适当的工作温度,UV LED的使用寿命将超过20000小时。随着 LED 发出更多的能量,它们也会产生更多的热量,这就需要进行管理。Phoseon 采用专利的热管理技术,可以去除系统中多余的热量,同时为二极管提供稳定的工作温度,使其在工作寿命内发挥最大性能。

LED散热对于紫外光源来说是非常重要的。任何一个读者在膝盖上长时间使用笔记本电脑后都知道,固态设备的副产品是热量。UV LED将接收到的电能中大约15-25%转移到光中。剩余的75-85%以热量的形式传递,因此,需要对LED阵列进行冷却。

目前,UV LED阵列采用空气或液体进行冷却。需要注意的是,随着LED发出更高的输出功率,产生的热量也就越多。因此,在打造更高辐照度产品的竞赛中,供应商控制和去除热量的能力对于构建可靠的系统变得更加关键。随着LED质量的提高和辐照度的增加,去除热量的需求也在增加。OEM和终端用户不希望在LED光源的散热上花费更多的成本。

Semiconductor Light Matrix™ Technology

Patented Technology for Superior Performance

Contact Us

Semiconductor Light Matrix™ Technology

Patented Technology for Superior Performance

Since 2002, Phoseon Technology has pioneered the use of LEDs for UV curing applications with a 100% focus on UV LED curing technology. Phoseon patented Semiconductor Light Matrix (SLM)™ technology encapsulates LEDs, Arrays, Optics and Cooling to maximize UV LED curing performance. Each of these four components are strictly engineered into a system that provides maximum UV energy and superior performance while also increasing long-term robustness for demanding applications.


Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs)

LEDs

Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs) are solid state devices that produce light when an electrical current flows from the positive (anode) side of the circuit to the negative (cathode) side. Phoseon builds complete light engines from individual diodes versus using pre-packaged LEDs. This allows Phoseon to match individual LED characteristics with other components to maximize the total UV energy.

As the base building block, this is the first choice a UV LED lamp supplier has to make. It is a critical choice that impacts the remainder of the systems architecture and design. Simply put, an LED is a solid-state device that produces light when an electrical current is allowed to flow from the positive (anode) side of the circuit to the negative (cathode) side.

Not all LEDs are built the same nor do they exhibit the same characteristics. UV LED lamp suppliers have critical choices to make as to the quality, type, material and shape of LED for their systems. Key LED characteristics considered by each UV LED lamp supplier include wavelength and UV output.

Wavelength: The wavelength emitted from an LED is controlled using differing amounts of dopants such as aluminum, gallium or indium derivatives during the manufacturing of the LED. The general rule of thumb is that the shorter the wavelength, the lower the peak UV output available from the die.

The UV LED supplier must weigh the trade‐offs between wavelength and the associated total energy with cure rate. Chemistry plays a significant role in this discussion. Some applications, due to their specific chemistry, require a given wavelength. However, for many applications a small shift in the peak wavelength will have no impact as the absorption of the UV by the photoinitiator which kicks‐off the reaction has a broad absorption range.

The output of a single UV LED is measured in milliwatts (mW) at a nominal input voltage and current. UV LED output has shown considerable improvement in recent years where specifications for LEDs from various vendors have improved significantly. This improvement shows the LED vendors have and will continue to improve the output of UV LEDs, which only provides a better foundation for the UV LED curing lamps that utilize them.


Arrays

LED Array

Arrays are a grouping or clustering of individual LEDs. The number, type, and size of LEDs; the shape of the array; and the method of electrically connecting the LEDs all impact the array. Phoseon’s array architecture is targeted for both the product, whether air or water cooled, and the target application to insure the optimal performance and reliability for the system manufacturer.

Arrays are the second area where suppliers can begin to differentiate their product offerings. How the LEDs are combined, the number and type of LEDs chosen, the shape of the array, the method of electrically connecting the LEDs, and even the size of the LEDs all have significant impact on the performance of the system. If built correctly, it can be a high power UV LED array.

Most applications require UV LED curing systems that consist of more than one LED or LED array in order to achieve not only the desired throughput but to meet the demands for curing applications where the media can be 1‐2m wide. Therefore, a key question is if the LED array can be uniformly scaled. UV LED curing lamps can have a continuous scalable array that provides for better uniformity or a discrete array package that can be scaled, but doesn’t provide the same uniformity of output.

Some LED manufacturers only sell their LEDs pre‐packaged into arrays or assemblies that they feel maximize the UV output. UV LED lamp system suppliers that purchase pre‐packaged arrays have typically made a tradeoff between faster time‐to‐market and less differentiated lamps versus a slightly longer time‐to‐market and maximizing UV power. This is an area where UV LED lamp suppliers can differentiate themselves based on the suppliers’ architecture and engineering capability where two suppliers can take the same batch of LEDs and achieve very different performance in the end product.


Optics

OpticsLight

After choosing individual diodes and implementing application-specific arrays, Phoseon then layers optical technologies to direct energy towards the substrate or material to be cured. This use of optics has three benefits: 1) it maximizes the amount of UV energy applied to the material and 2) it lowers the heat generated by the array, and 3) it provides for application specific focused energy.

The UV LED optics is one of the most important differentiators in lamps. The science of optically improving the LEDs to maximize their UV output is key to the lamp’s final capability. Based on the end application the optical engineer has to decide what shape, form, and material best utilizes the LED’s unique characteristics. Next they have to balance the fact the LEDs are a ‘flood’ type of light, unlike a focused mercury lamp where the light is captured by a reflector and directed to a specific point, focal length.

The optical engineer is challenged to use methods to ensure the maximum amount of light ‘escapes’ at the desired irradiance through the window/glass towards the material. LED Lamp suppliers have used various, confidential methods to maximize the UV LED light.

While an end‐user or OEM should not necessarily be concerned with how the optics are provided in the UV LED lamp, they should understand if the supplier has the ability to improve their design for their specific application needs.


Cooling

UV LEDs will last past 20,000 hours if they maintain proper operating temperatures. As LEDs emit more energy, they also generate more heat, which needs to be managed. Phoseon uses patented thermal management techniques that remove excess heat from the system while providing a consistent operating temperature for the diodes to function at maximum performance over their operating lifetime.

LED cooling is very important for UV light sources. As any reader knows after using a notebook PC on their lap for a length of time, the by‐product of solid‐state devices is heat. UV LEDs transfer about 15‐25% of the received electrical energy into light. The remaining 75‐85% is transferred as heat; thus, the need to cool the LED arrays.

Currently, UV LED arrays are cooled with either air or liquid. It is important to note that as the LEDs emit higher output power, the more heat is generated. Thus in the race to build ever higher irradiance products, the ability of suppliers to control and remove heat has become more crucial to building reliable systems. As the quality of LEDs improves and the irradiance increases, so does the need to remove the heat. OEMs and end‐users do not want to spend more on the LED cooling of the light sources.