紫外線LED與汞光譜分佈 

太陽是紫外線輻射全光譜的來源,通常分為UV-A,UV-B和UV-C。典型的光源光譜波長范圍從紫外線(UV-C:200至280nm; UV-B:280至315nm; UV-A:315至400nm)到可見光(400至760nm)和紅外光(760至3000nm) )。 LED UV燈具有以特定波長±10nm為中心的窄光譜輸出。大多數Phoseon產品使用365nm,385nm,395nm或405nm波長。這種接近單色的分佈(請參見圖表)需要新的化學配方,以確保油墨,塗料和粘合劑的正確固化。

大多數標準的UV固化發生在狹窄的發射範圍內,其餘的光譜輸出會產生不必要的且可能有害的UV-C和紅外發射。 UV LED燈提供了這種狹窄的發射範圍。

UV LED固化光源 有效地將輸入電源的20-40%轉換為可用的UV光,而不會產生有害的UV-C或紅外光。與基於汞的燈相比,該效率轉化為大約80%的功率和熱量節省。

峰值輻照度和能量密度

功率與輻照度

為了優化固化和建立工藝窗口,應該理解LED燈的兩個關鍵參數。識別該工藝窗口將產生最耐用和最理想的光潔度,以及可接受的附著力和表面固化:峰值輻照度和能量密度。

峰值輻照度(也稱為強度)是到達表面單位面積的輻射功率。對於UV固化,表面是基材或零件的固化表面,而平方厘米是單位面積。輻照度以瓦特或毫瓦每平方厘米(W /cm²或mW /cm²)為單位表示。峰值輻照度有助於滲透和幫助表面固化。峰值輻照度受工程光源的輸出,使用反射鏡或光學器件將光線集中或包含在更緊密的表面撞擊區域中以及光源與固化表面的距離影響。隨著光源與固化表面之間距離的增加,固化表面上的UV LED輻照度迅速降低。

能量密度,也稱為劑量或輻射能量密度,是在定義的時間段內(停留或暴露)到達單位面積表面的能量。平方厘米還是單位面積,輻射能量密度以每平方厘米的焦耳或毫焦耳(J /cm²或mJ /cm²)為單位表示。能量密度是輻照度隨時間的積分。完全固化需要足夠的能量密度。

UV LED Wavelength

A full spectrum of ultraviolet radiation

UV LED Wavelength

A full spectrum of ultraviolet radiation

The Sun is a source of the full spectrum of ultraviolet radiation, which is commonly subdivided into UV-A, UV-B, and UV-C. The typical light source spectrum wavelength ranges from Ultraviolet Light (UV-C: 200 to 280nm; UV-B: 280 to 315nm; UV-A: 315 to 400nm) to Visible Light (400 to 760nm) and Infrared Light (760 to 3000nm). LED UV lights have a narrow spectral output centered around a specific wavelength, ±10nm. Most Phoseon products use 365nm, 385nm, 395nm or 405nm wavelengths. This near-monochromatic distribution (see chart) requires new chemical formulations to ensure proper curing of inks, coatings, and adhesives.

UV LED vs. Mercury Spectral Distribution 

The majority of standard UV curing happens in a narrow emission range with the remainder of the spectral output generating unneeded and potentially harmful UV-C and infrared emissions. UV LED lights provide this narrow emission range.

UV LED curing light sources efficiently convert 20-40% of the input electrical power into usable UV light with no harmful UV-C or infrared exposure. That efficiency translates into approximately 80% power and heat savings over mercury based lamps.


Peak Irradiance & Energy Density

Power-vs-irradiance

There are two key parameters of an LED lamp that should be understood for the purposes of optimizing cure and establishing a process window. Identifying this process window will result in the most durable and desirable finish, as well as acceptable adhesion and surface cure: peak irradiance and energy density.

Peak irradiance, also called intensity, is the radiant power arriving at a surface per-unit area. With UV curing, the surface is the cure surface of the substrate or part, and a square centimeter is the unit area. Irradiance is expressed in units of watts or milliwatts per square centimeter (W/cm² or mW/cm²). Peak irradiance is instrumental in penetration and aiding surface cure. Peak irradiance is affected by the output of the engineered light source, the use of reflectors or optics to concentrate or contain the rays in a tighter surface impact area, and the distance of the source from the cure surface. The irradiance for UV LEDs at the cure surface decreases quickly as the distance between the source and the cure surface increases.

Energy density, also called dose or radiant energy density, is the energy arriving at a surface per-unit-area during a defined period of time (dwell or exposure). A square centimeter is again the unit area and radiant energy density is expressed in units of joules or millijoules per square centimeter (J/cm² or mJ/cm² ). Energy density is the integral of irradiance over time. A sufficient amount of energy density is necessary for full cure.