UV LED可以殺死新型冠狀病毒嗎?

經常問的問題

了解有關消毒的更多信息

UV LED可以殺死新型冠狀病毒嗎?

經常問的問題

Phoseon正與有關方面緊密合作,通過適當使用我們的UV LED技術來減少病原體並使病毒滅活,從而應對新型冠狀病毒(SARS-CoV-2)的爆發。 Phoseon與個別研究人員和科學家一起致力於貢獻我們的消毒專業知識和資源,以幫助研究人員和醫院應對Covid-19。如果有人對新型冠狀病毒(SARS-CoV-2)的研究或測試感興趣,Phoseon可提供廣泛的UVC LED燈(278nm)用於病毒滅活和病原體研究。 聯繫我們獲取更多信息。

Phoseon UV LED產品對新型冠狀病毒(SARS-CoV-2)是否有效?

是的,有一個小警告。我們已經針對其他病毒測試了我們的UV LED系統,它們運行良好。我們的系統已被證明是快速有效的。但是,我們還沒有專門針對SARS-CoV-2進行任何測試。坦白說,幾個月前它才不是新聞,也不是一個令人關注的問題,而如今進入實驗室以進行測試的目標正面臨挑戰,因為他們專注於其他事情。我們所知道的科學和結構上都與SARS-CoV-2有關,我們對我們的燈具殺死病毒的有效性抱有很高的信心。在確定劑量和總體有效性時需要進行測試。  紫外線發光二極管滅活生物分子和微生物的有效性

您準備使用哪些紫外線LED系統?

KeyPro™系列的UV LED產品 現在可以進行消毒。的 KeyPro KP100 是完全獨立的實驗室或台式儀器。它具有觸摸面板控件,安全聯鎖裝置可以避免光照,並且可以處理容納在腔室內的任何物體。我們的自由空間燈 KeyPro資源管理器,也可以使用KP200和KP300燈。但是,這些燈需要保護措施或屏蔽,有些需要並且打算安裝在輔助機械中。

使用燈是否有必要的預防措施?

是。需要屏蔽以消除直接看光或直接暴露於皮膚的可能性。正式地:警告本產品散發出的紫外線的危險群3避免眼睛和皮膚接觸未屏蔽的產品。

紫外線行業協會不鼓勵在人體上使用紫外線來消毒冠狀病毒 學到更多

您有220nm的LED嗎?

不會。波長在250 nm以下的LED仍在早期研究中,其功率在納瓦範圍內。使用當前技術,最低的商業可行波長為254nm。我說在商業上可行,因為已經製造了一些較低波長的LED芯片,但是這些芯片在任何地方都沒有大量生產,並且效率不高,無法在系統中使用。

您有什麼220nm光源?

我們有我們的 KeyView Smart Engine激光220nm光源。該設備旨在用於分析應用。與該波長范圍內的其他分析源相比,它確實具有很高的功率,但遠沒有足夠的功率可用於消毒。更不用說設計有效地加寬激光束的系統中的困難。

Phoseon可以向我出售xxx nm波長的LED嗎?

Phoseon是系統提供商。我們購買原始LED芯片並將其包裝到可用系統中。我們不出售原始LED,也不出售僅安裝在簡單板上或TO罐中的LED(TO代表“晶體管輪廓” –指半導體貿易組織JEDEC的標準化圖紙)。原因是LED利用率不高。是的,可以接通電源並發光,但是控制能量流,熱負荷處理,優化間距和調節輸出是非常複雜的工程任務,如果執行不正確,可能會導致輸出低,壽命短和整體性能差。 Phoseon的專業知識是LED系統的工程設計。我們在LED系統方面擁有近300項專利,可以構建性能最高,壽命最長的系統。我們很樂意討論建立滿足您需求的系統。只需與我們聯繫並告訴我們您要做什麼。

每個LED僅發射單個波長嗎?

每個LED都有一個與之關聯的峰值波長。這是強度最高的地方。在任一側,強度都按照曲線的高斯分佈相當迅速地下降。對於每個波長,這是不同的,但是對於許多LED來說,半峰最大的寬度是很常見的(FWHM –半峰全寬是描述峰寬度的常用術語)可能接近10nm,但是最高強度集中在峰值波長上。 LED通常僅被稱為其峰值波長,但是它們的發射實際上更寬。

消毒使用的最佳波長是多少?

消毒的峰值波長實際上是265nm。數十年來,汞燈系統已經可以利用254nm汞的發射峰之一進行消毒。該波長足夠接近吸收峰以起作用。我們的系統使用275nm LED。與水銀燈類似,我們的波長也不是峰值吸收,但是我們可以在此波長下構建非常高的功率系統,這使其性能優於類似的水銀燈系統。無論是254nm還是275nm波長,都需要採取預防措施以避免皮膚和眼睛接觸……想想真的是曬傷。我們的 KeyPro KP100儀器 例如,門上有一個內置的安全開關,可以在門打開時關閉電燈。已經有關於220nm波長的研究。它可以用來消毒,但是它還有對皮膚和眼睛安全的附加好處。不幸的是,就像前面的問題中提到的那樣,根本無法使用220nm LED。我們的建議是使用我們的275nm高功率系統之一,並採取必要的預防措施,避免接觸光。

Phoseon的可用波長和應用

我可以用您的系統招待一個房間嗎?

簡短的答案,是的,但不是很好。設計UVC消毒系統時,有兩個重要因素。首先是劑量。無需太過專業,就可以將劑量視為隨時間推移的光功率。粗略地說,如果您的燈的輸出功率是其兩倍,則需要一半的時間來處理表面,反之亦然。每種微生物都有消毒所需的特定劑量和強度閾值。每個人都不一樣!距離帶來的挑戰是,入射光的可用功率會減少與燈的距離的平方,換句話說,距離光源越遠,損耗的功率就越大。如此之多,以至於行進超過幾英尺都將力量提升到了真正無法使用的水平。第二個挑戰是陰影。可以想像,光僅在光接觸的表面上起作用……才有意義。因此,如果存在投射陰影的項目,則根本不會處理陰影中的區域。我們的建議始終是使處理過的表面盡可能靠近燈,並在可能的情況下在整個表面上掃描燈,以盡可能避免陰影。我們的KP100利用了這一精確技術,非常有效。

你可以消毒嗎?

在談到消毒科學時,“消毒”有一個嚴格的定義。我們都已經看到各種各樣的廣告宣傳“這種”更清潔的混合物殺死了所有細菌的99%…或所有細菌的99.9%,等等。營銷商使用這些數字是有原因的。他們指的是對數減少率。在上面的示例中,99%減少為2 log減少。 99.9%是3 log減少。不難弄清楚,您使用的9的數量可以為您用於消毒的化學,熱或UVC光的對數減少率。回到滅菌。滅菌的基本定義是達到生物體的log 6減少或99.9999%減少(比這要復雜得多,但是為了便於回答,我們將其保留在那裡)。可以說,這是很高的分數。加上這個數字是特定於您正在測試的生物體的,因此對於一個生物體,相同的燈可以減少5 log,但是在給定相同劑量的情況下,對於另一個生物體,則只有2 log。底線是與科學定義緊密聯繫在一起的,除非我們已經專門測試並證明了這一事實,否則我們避免使用術語“滅菌”。但是,在現實世界中,人們可以互換使用殺菌,消毒,滅活和殺菌等術語。我們的系統是否消毒?絕對。

去污,消毒,殺菌有什麼區別?

我要處理“填空”,您的系統可以工作嗎?

是的,它會!請參閱上面有關房間處理的問題。請記住一些事情。首先是劑量。同樣,您可以將劑量視為隨時間變化的光功率。每種微生物都有消毒所需的特定劑量和強度閾值。其次是陰影。僅處理那些與光接觸的表面。我們的建議始終是使處理過的表面盡可能靠近燈,並在可能的情況下在整個表面上掃描燈,以盡可能避免陰影。或使用我們的KP100系統。第三個考慮因素是材料兼容性。雖然UVC燈與金屬,玻璃和陶瓷以及大多數聚合物兼容,但仍有一些塑料被其損壞。如果您向我們發送目標材料的樣本,可以與我們聯繫以了解兼容性,或者我們可以進行一些基本的材料兼容性測試。

您對紫外線LED對病毒和細菌的有效性進行了哪些研究?

紫外線發光二極管滅活生物分子和微生物的有效性

本白皮書說明了為什麼UV LED技術值得研究實驗室和製造設施認真考慮以滅活生物分子和微生物的原因。它描述了Phoseon與不同程度的滅活有關的研究發現。

要了解有關我們研究的更多信息,請訪問我們的 文檔頁面.

Can UV LEDs Kill the Novel Coronavirus?

Frequently Asked Questions

Learn more about disinfection

Can UV LEDs Kill the Novel Coronavirus?

Frequently Asked Questions

Phoseon is working closely with interested parties to respond to the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) outbreak through the appropriate use of our UV LED technology for reducing pathogens and inactivating viruses. Together with individual researchers and scientists, Phoseon is focused on contributing our disinfection expertise and resources to help researchers and hospitals fighting Covid-19. If anyone is interested in novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2)  research or testing, Phoseon offers a wide range of UVC LED lamps (278nm) for virus inactivation and pathogen research. Contact us for more information.

Are Phoseon UV LED products effective against the Novel Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2)?

YES, with one small caveat.  We have tested our UV LED systems against other viruses, and they work very well.  Our systems have proven to be fast and efficient.  However, we have not run any tests specifically on SARS-CoV-2.  Frankly, it was not in the news and not a concern more than a few months ago, and getting into a lab for testing purposes is challenging these days as they are focused on other things.  What we know is scientifically and structurally concerning SARS-CoV-2 we have very high confidence in our lamps effectiveness in killing the virus.  Testing would need to be done in determining dosage and overall effectiveness.  Effectiveness of UV Light-Emitting Diodes for Inactivating Biomolecules and Microorganisms

What UV LED systems do you have available ready to use?

The KeyPro ™ family of UV LED products for disinfection is available today.  The KeyPro KP100 is a lab or bench top instrument completely self-contained.  It has touch panel controls, safety interlocks to avoid light exposure and it will treat anything that fits inside the chamber.  Our free space lamps, the KeyPro Explorer, and the KP200 and KP300 lamps are also available and ready to use.  However, these lamps require protective measures or shielding and some require and are intended to be installed in supporting machinery.

Are there any precautions necessary to use your lamps?

Yes.  Shielding is required to eliminate possibility of looking at light directly or exposing to skin directly. Officially:  Warning RISK GROUP 3 UV EMITTED FROM THIS PRODUCT Avoid eye and skin exposure to unshielded product.

UV INDUSTRY ASSOCIATIONS DISCOURAGE THE USE OF UV LIGHT ON THE HUMAN BODY TO DISINFECT AGAINST THE CORONAVIRUS Learn More

Do you have 220nm LEDs?

No.  LEDs with wavelengths below 250 nm are still in very early research and have power in the nanoWatt range.  With current technology the lowest commercially viable wavelength is 254nm.  I say commercially viable because there have been made some lower wavelength LED chips, but these are not in production anywhere in any amounts and are not efficient enough to be of any use in a system.

What 220nm source do you have?

We have our KeyView Smart Engine laser 220nm source.  This device is intended for use in analytical applications.  It does have very high power when comparing to other analytical sources in this wavelength range, but nowhere near enough power to be of any use in disinfection.  Not to mention the difficultly in designing a system to widen the beam of a laser effectively.

Can Phoseon sell me xxx nm wavelength LEDs?

Phoseon is a systems provider. We buy and package raw LED chips into usable systems. We do not sell the raw LEDs nor do we sell LEDs only mounted on a simple board or in a TO can (TO stands for “transistor outline” – which refers to standardized drawings from JEDEC a semiconductor trade organization). The reason being is that LED utilization is not straight forward. Yes, electricity can be connected and light comes out, but control of energy flow, heat load handling, optimized spacing, and conditioning the output are very complex engineering tasks which if performed incorrectly can lead to low output, short life, and poor overall performance. Phoseon’s expertise is in the engineering design of LED systems. We hold nearly 300 patents around LED systems and can build systems with the highest performance and the longest life. We would be happy to discuss building a system for your needs. Simply contact us and tell us what you are trying to do.

Does Each LED emit only a single wavelength?

Each LED has a peak wavelength associated with it. This is where the intensity is the highest. On either side the intensity drops off rather quickly as in a Gaussian distribution following curve. This is different for each wavelength, but it is common for a lot of LEDs for the width of the peak at half max (FWHM – full width at half maximum is a common term for describing peak width) may be close to 10nm, but the highest intensity is centered on the peak wavelength. LEDs are typically referred to only as their peak wavelength, but their emission is actually wider.

What are the best wavelengths to use for disinfection?

The peak wavelength for disinfection is actually 265nm.  For many decades mercury lamp systems have been available for disinfection utilizing one of the emission peaks of mercury, 254nm.  This wavelength is close enough to the absorption peak to be effective.  Our systems utilize 275nm LEDs.  Similar to mercury lamps, our wavelength is also off the peak absorption, but we can build very high power systems at this wavelength that makes them perform better than similar mercury lamp systems.  With either the 254nm or the 275nm wavelengths precautions need to be taken to avoid skin and eye contact…think really bad sunburn.  Our KeyPro KP100 instrument for example has a built in safety switch on the door to turn off the light if the door is opened.  There have been studies surrounding 220nm wavelength.  It can be used to disinfect, but it has the added benefit that it is safe for the skin and eyes.  Unfortunately, as mentioned in the previous question, 220nm LEDs are simply not available.  Our recommendation would be to use one of our 275nm high power systems and take the necessary precautions to avoid contact with the light.

Available wavelengths and applications from Phoseon

Can I treat a room with your systems?

The short answer, yes, but not very well.  There are 2 important factors when designing UVC disinfection systems.  First is dosage.  Without getting too technical, you can think of dosage as light power over time.  Roughly speaking if you have a lamp with twice the output power you need half the time to treat a surface, and vice versa.  Every microorganism has a specific dosage and intensity threshold needed to disinfect.  It’s different for every one!  The challenge created with distance is that the available power of the incident light reduces by the square of the distance away from the lamp, or in other words, you lose more power the further you move away from the source.  So much so that travelling more than a few feet brings the power to a level that it is really unusable.  The second challenge is shadows.  As you can imagine, the light only works on surface that the light touches…makes sense.  So if there are items that cast shadows, then the areas in shadows are not treated at all.  Our recommendation is always to have the treated surface as close to the lamp as possible and if possible scan the lamp over the surface to avoid shadowing as much as possible.  Our KP100 utilizes this exact technology and is very effective.

Can you sterilize?

“Sterilize” has an exacting definition when talking the science of disinfection.  We have all seen the various commercials touting “this” cleaner concoction kills 99% of all germs…or 99.9% of all bacteria, etc.  There is a reason why marketers use these numbers.  They are referring to log reduction rates.  In the examples above, 99% reduction is 2 log reduction.  99.9% is 3 log reduction.  It is not hard to figure out, the number of 9’s you have gives you the log reduction rate for whatever you are using to disinfect be it chemical, heat, or UVC light.  Back to sterilization.  The basic definition for sterilization is reaching log 6 reduction, or 99.9999% reduction in organism (it’s more complicated than this, but for ease of answer we will leave it there).  Suffice to say, that’s a high mark.  Plus this number is specific to the organism you are testing, so the same lamp could reach 5 log reduction for one organism, but maybe only 2 log for another given the same dosage.  Bottom line, with so much tied up in the scientific definition, we avoid using the term sterilization unless we have specifically tested and proven this fact.  However, in the real world people use the terms sterilization, disinfection, deactivation, germicidal interchangeably.  Does our system disinfect?  ABSOLUTELY.

What is the difference between decontamination, disinfection, sterilization?

I want to treat “fill in the blank”, will your systems work?

Yes it will!  Refer to the question about room treating above.  Keep in mind a few things.  First is dosage.  Again, you can think of dosage as light power over time.  Every microorganism has a specific dosage and intensity threshold needed to disinfect.  Second is shadowing.  Only those surfaces in contact with the light are treated.  Our recommendation is always to have the treated surface as close to the lamp as possible and if possible scan the lamp over the surface to avoid shadowing as much as possible.  Or use our KP100 system. The third consideration is material compatibility. While UVC light is compatible with metals, glass and ceramic, and most polymers, there are some plastics that are damaged by it. You can contact us about compatibility or we can run some basic material compatibility testing if you send us a sample of your target material.

What research have you done on the effectiveness of UV LED on viruses and bacteria?

Effectiveness of UV Light-Emitting Diodes for Inactivating Biomolecules and Microorganisms

This white paper makes the case for why UV LED technology deserves serious consideration by research labs and manufacturing facilities for inactivating biological molecules and microorganisms. It describes Phoseon’s research findings related to the different levels of inactivation.

To learn more about our research, visit our documentation page.